PDA

View Full Version : how much topsoil


Harleyman
04-17-2003, 03:43 PM
How much topsoil would you put on a new lawn that sits on bank run gravel. I am figuring 3" total depth. I know someone may com3e in at 2" or less but i think 3" is better for moisture. This ground will not hold any moisture with so much bank run below. What do you think? I told them they should tear down the house and make a pit at the place.

mike9497
04-18-2003, 07:24 PM
why don't you tell us the area L x W then maybe we can help you out

KenH
04-18-2003, 08:01 PM
Whats the depth of the gravel bed???

Harleyman
04-18-2003, 11:05 PM
i am just figuring total depth at this point. i am not sure if 3" is enough. The whole septic systed is sitting in bankrun. All the gravel came from an addition so i would prusume at least 8' deep or even more because the main highway sits at least 20' below house.

jsaunders
04-20-2003, 10:40 PM
6'' recomended for good grass- water retaining