PDA

View Full Version : Removing stumps


glenjr10
04-18-2003, 06:04 PM
I just contracted a job for a client, that we removed some trees, that were located near a fence. They were able to cut them down to the ground, but not bury them so that i could mow over them. The client does not want them, but still wants the fence there.

There is no way of getting a stump grinder, due to the closeness to the fence.

Just wondering if there was any way of removing them, without digging them up, so that they would be underground.

Thanks

fblandscape
04-18-2003, 06:27 PM
How big of stumps? What kind of fence? You can always take the fence down / apart.

BRL
04-18-2003, 06:29 PM
Chain saw has always worked for me. Just did one next to a chain link fence but it was only a 9" diameter tree, with the ground level part about 15" diameter. I don't understand the "bury" part, but just cut them flush with the ground & mow away.

glenjr10
04-18-2003, 08:48 PM
fb the fence is a chain link fence, that he owner does not want taken down

BRL the trees vary in size, and that is what i was thinking of, but didn't know if there was a better way

menchhofer
04-18-2003, 11:00 PM
Try untying the chain link fence from the posts and the top rail.

Then simply pull the chain link away from them as someone grinds the stump. Then simply re tie the link. Easy