PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs accounting/tax advise

Pugsly
04-29-2003, 03:59 PM
I need some help in planning for next years tax return. This is my first year in business. I have a full time Firefighting job that is my main source of income. With this in mind:

1: Are the full amount of equipment deductable (my trimmer blower rakes, brooms, blah blah etc)
If i spent $300 for the trimmer, can i deduct $300?

2: How do you deduct high price items such as my mower which was $2400?

3: Are my phone bill (for business) computer (for record keeping and bought this yaer), envelopes, stamp etc deducable 100%

4: If i buy a used pickup for say $10000, is that fully deducable or do i have to used the depreciation thing (so if it's va;lue after 1 year is $8000 i deduct $2000 depreciation?) even if bought used?

5: Finally, what if the business made a loss the first year (ie i spent $10000 to get the business going but only brought in $5000) Being a sole propriator can i deduct that $5000 loss off my personal income tax to get a bigger refund? (i have always gotten a good sized refund every year from my firefighting job)

bruces
04-30-2003, 09:18 AM
First of all, if you don't have a CPA or tax preparer, get one.

You will reap the benefits many times over if you are going to stay in the business.

1. Yes you can deduct the full cost up to 25,000 per year using the section 179 allowance.

2. Same as 1.

3. Any business expense, (with the exception of meals and entertainment) is going to be 100% deductible.

4. Vehicles are subject to special rules, you can depreciate them or take a mileage allowance. See your tax advisor!

5. Yes. The loss can offset other income. See your tax advisor!

Meet with your CPA now (or soon) to get a better feel for what your situation will be based on your projected numbers will be with the lawn business. That way you won't be facing surprises at the end of the year.

Green in Idaho
04-30-2003, 10:49 AM