PDA

View Full Version : help!! how much do i charge?

lastimado landscapin
04-30-2003, 08:28 PM
i was offered a contract with a cabling co. they have 4 crews trenching and running cable. We would have the job of restoration (filling in holes, reseeding, etc.) what do i charge for this? im new to the business, and this is blowing my mind. do i charge by the sq. ft.? is there any money in this? i know that if the co. doesnt have to stop and restore their work, they'll make much more money. help!

Shuter
04-30-2003, 10:36 PM
You have to figure out all your expenses to complete the job and how much profit margin you need to keep your busniess going and then figure a little for goof factor, then add it up and there is your price. How big are the trenches. 4' wide means alot more work than 6" wide?? Do you have to remove the debris from the trencher or is there a dump site in the construction area?? Little questions like that can add up your time quickly and lower the profit magin.

lastimado landscapin
04-30-2003, 11:33 PM
its not a construction site. they trench through residential yards running cable for pp&l and others. they just cut a trench 4ft deep through yards and mulch beds, etc. since they trench all year round. I cant charge as if it was one job. i almost have to charge per foot. Im wondering if i can somehow work in the driving time since they have 4 crews trenching in different places.

The Good Earth
05-01-2003, 12:43 AM
This sounds like a pretty good gig. It seems as if it can be profitable if, and there is always an if, they let the crews get a couple of days ahead of you.