PDA

View Full Version : Not Like License Method? Listen to the Pro!

mdvaden
05-02-2003, 01:47 AM
The other thread on licensing prompted me to write this.

In case you did not read that post, I am a board member for the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board.

Honestly, I just about quit after only serving 6 months of my first 3 year term. The reason I decided to hang in there, was because its possible to accomplish change by remaining.

What I want to dwell on here is something from the past:

Before I was on the board, before I was a licensed landscaper - about 10, 15 years ago - I was dead set against licensing. Heck, I knew what I was doing, and I was well trained.

( I support reasonable licensing and testing now, at least IN OREGON, because of the MIGRANT labor that came HERE unprepared, presenting themselves as credible services for care of valuable landscaping - end of parenthesis )

Continuing in the past - this is the part some of you will enjoy - I and one other tree service "took on" the Oregon Construction Contractors Board and the Oregon Arborists Association.

The history is that those 2 groups had already started legislation that put all tree care services in Oregon under the jurisdiction of the Construction Contractors Board. When I found out about this, there was another bill in the works for the Arborists to have an Arborist Board within the construction board.

My main "beef" was that I did not think I should have to get that license for small and medium pruning, nor have to carry the amount of insurance they were requesting. But as I read the proposed legislation, I saw that there were "land-mines" like saying that "testing would have to occur at least once per year". Well, that statement also can be interpreted as "TESTING CAN BE GIVEN ONLY ONCE PER YEAR". See the danger?