PDA

View Full Version : can i get these accounts back?

lastimado landscapin
05-07-2003, 11:15 PM
I have a horror story. This is my first year in the lawn/landscaping biz. I started out the year great. i put out about 500 flyers in a wealthy neighborhood, and got atleast 12 phone calls. only about 3 of them where for lawn mowing. the rest where cleanups, and mulching. Sounds like a good start, right.
I though i was smart. I did all of my marketing before i bought all of my equipment, so that i would know how far into debt i should go. So i get all my stuff including the most crucial part, the truck to haul it in. i decided to buy a ford f350 stake body dump off of a friend, cuz it had a new engine, and pump. the only bad thing was the body was really rough. so we agreed that he would have it painted before i got it. he says, "it'll be done in a week", this was at the end of march. I only end up getting the truck and putting my sign on it yesterday, over a month late.
At first i was trying to stall until i got the truck, because every day he told me it would be another day until we could pick up the truck. finally i just let all the calls go to voice mail. i have a couple people that i said id give estimates to, but never did. this is a helluva start for my business. its aleady may, and it seems like everyone has their lco's, and most have their mulch.
I feel like bagging the whole thing and starting over next year. What should i do? i dont know how to deal with this? do i try to salvage the accounts that i blew off, or do i get a bobcat, and try to make some money with lawn installs? I hope someone can make sense of my story and give me some input.

lastimado landscapin
05-08-2003, 04:40 PM