PDA

View Full Version : A Bid and then a Cancelation

Dstosh
05-12-2003, 08:17 PM
I placed an add in a local paper and Recieved a call today and I go over to this ladys house and take a walk around she has about 150-200(est) feet of beds to be edged, mulched and such. She makes me out this whole list so I quoted her 300 bucks plus the price of mulch. Which after I figured it out I really under quoted her it should have been around 350 she even told me that it was a "fair" price and i thought so too. Now dont all of you go telling me that i should charge double as much and yadda yadda. But i went and quoted another job same deal just a bit smaller. Anyways my brother tells me that this lady calls me back and tells him that she doesnt want it done. So i call her and she says she is going to have her daughters boyfriend do a little at a time. I couldnt beleive it. I am just starting out and can use all of the work that i can get and I was getting upset because i havent got any calls and all of the sudden i get one and then i get a call back saying that it doesnt want to be done...WTF:angry:

BRL
05-12-2003, 09:55 PM
Welcome to Business! Sorry to hear about that. Keep your head up & keep on trying & bidding. Good luck. If it makes you feel better, I had the same thing happen this week, only its around $15,000.00 worth of work. So if I can recover from that I'm sure you'll survive ;) :cry: < that was me LOL.

Dstosh
05-12-2003, 10:31 PM
Thanks, BRL it does make me feel a little better..I am still new at this pricing buisiness so it gets kind of awkard for me when i quote a price. Thanks alot

yerturfsux
05-12-2003, 10:31 PM
And I'll throw you another curve. I got several jobs this week which are forcing me to find about 20k to keep one of them. It consist of a very large entrance. All in all, the job will end up costing around 75k. The kicker? I started this business 3 months ago.

Georgiehopper
05-12-2003, 11:23 PM