PDA

View Full Version : 2nd Year in business

tnt-g
05-14-2003, 09:53 PM
I am now in my second year of business and have over 60 accounts. We are doing very well with our clients and have been receiving many referals from them. What I would like is some input on how to find out projections of monthly spending and how to manage the money effectively. It seems to go as quickly as it comes in. How are you guys handling this end of the business. I would like to pay my partner and myself a decent income and also have money to reinvestin equipment and handle material costs.

tiedeman
05-15-2003, 12:02 AM
the best bet is to setup a cashflow statement. We actually use 3 different types of cashflow statements.

tnt-g
05-15-2003, 12:44 AM
Right now I am figuring the monthly cost of operation, but what do you mean by cash flow statement?

Let it Grow
05-15-2003, 01:57 AM
Do you use any accounting software? It makes it much easier to figure out what is going on in your business when you can print out financials right from your software, then you can take a look at exaclty where your money is going, when it is going, and whether it should be.
We use Quickbooks Pro, it's great for that sort of thing.
Cash flow statement would definitely help you out.

Green in Idaho
05-15-2003, 12:54 PM
Geoff,

As you do a monthly profit & loss statement slip two more items in the expense category.

1) Business Cash Savings
2) Equipment fund

1) Determine a % of revenue that you will save and literally set aside in a savings account for future operating expenses. Something like 1-3%. Build the account to a comfortable size and the occasional 'cash crunch' will not be quite so difficult.