PDA

View Full Version : Shindaiwa spreaders ?

Turf Dancer
05-22-2003, 11:50 AM
I am tired of throwing away a cheap spreader every year. I was looking at the Shindaiwa RS 75 Spreader ! Does anyone have one ? Are they any good ? I was quoted $249 and $309 for the stainless version !

morturf
05-22-2003, 04:55 PM
All the spreaders out there aren't much if you ask me. I have tried them all. I do a lot of hills. I have been pushing a spreader for more than 35 years and put on literally 100's of tons of product. T-handles limit the usefulness of these spreaders. The arrangement is inhereintly unstable on hills since it makes you take your hand off the handle to turn it on and off. I do way too many hilly yards for this. I have modified a model 77 and a Golfstaff. This is best spreader made, I modify a Spyker Golfstaff 88 to make it work. The Golfstaff is well built. With this arrangement you can shut off the spreader and keep your hands in control of your spreader. I have more pictures if you like to see them.

If a your only criteria is that a spread rate be on the bag, get another spreader. But if you can calibrate and you want a spreader that lasts get one of these. We don't even use the dial or the bag setting to set ours...We use a caliper and the rate/1000 it is far more accurate. Well anyway.....hope you get one that really works in the long run for you.

fblandscape
05-22-2003, 06:15 PM
I don't have much experience with the Shindiawa spreaders, but from what I remember, and from what I heard from my old dealer they are not good. I would suggest a Lesco spreader. Not cheap, but well worth the $$$

kickin sum grass
05-22-2003, 07:59 PM