PDA

View Full Version : Front Page Help Please


NNJLandman
05-31-2003, 11:17 PM
Looking for someone who uses/has Microsoft Front Page. Please reply or pm me. This subject deals with the navigation.

CentralMassWeb
06-02-2003, 08:56 AM
How can I help you?

I design webpages, so if you have a question ask away...please post the url of the site as well.

Matt

julyking
06-02-2003, 09:47 AM
I too know a thing or two about webpage design. Ask away and I'll also try to contribute some advice.

NNJLandman
06-02-2003, 07:50 PM
Just got Front Page with my new computer. Have a lot of knowledge about computers programs etc but am having some problems with the Front Page Navigations. I go to insert Navigation then i click bar based on navigation structure. I go through a few more steps and have to choose a few things but at the end i never have any navigation buttons? Can you guys help me with that.

Oh an one more thing, is there anyway to divide the page up into like columns?

Thanks

CentralMassWeb
06-03-2003, 09:10 AM
You divide the page into columns using a table, create a table with 2 rows and 2 columns...then you can merge cells if you wish to create the look that you are looking for.

Frontpage is a web designers nightmare, as is most microsoft products. It was built with functions that aren't used in other programs, eg. WebBots.


As for the button itself....
Try
Insert | Component | Hover Button

julyking
06-03-2003, 01:55 PM
I agree with CentralMassWeb. I used to use FrontPage when I first started working with webpages but I now I find myself just typing in the html code. It may take a little longer at first but it gives you a lot better understanding of how webpages actually work. I too recommend learning as much as you can about tables. They are an important part of web design and are a part of nearly every webpage that you'll ever visit. They are used to control the layout of the page. Often times they are there but are not even visible to the site's visitor because they have a property called "border" that can be set to 0 to keep the table outline from being displayed. To get a better understanding of tables insert a table into a web document while using FrontPage and manipulate the table's properties and then see how each change affects the source code.

Some more advice would be to look at the source code of already existing webpages and try to follow what each part of the code is doing. Only look at pages with simple layouts at first. Ones that have a few links, and a few pics and are not too complicated.

That being said it's sort of hard to lend any other type of advice here as I'm not totally sure what it is you are trying to accomplish. If there is more specific info that you could share regarding the task at hand it would help.

NNJLandman
06-03-2003, 07:21 PM
Thanks guys for the Help...Really appreciate it. Yes i know some HTML and am still learning, i will be learning Java Script next year in school. Again thank you for all the help, it was very helpful!

PureCourage
06-14-2003, 03:42 PM
My Suggestion is to delete front page from your machine. I suggest learning Dreamweaver MX or Golive if you want to learn and use a proffessional page editor. If you want the easiest and most user friendly one that may actually think for you...I love this one. 40tude. Here it is: http://www.40tude.com/html/

download the free trial and you will see what I mean. I sometimes use it to get a job done quick then put the code it generates into my Dreamweaver just to get started:)

If you want the best online bulder on the market....go to Homestead.com

I started with Frontpage and I will tell you all the way to the current edition....it is a nightmare. I can look at a page on the internet now and without viewing the source code tell you it's FrontRage! The exact positioning feature will never work right and centering is a big problem.

Hope this helps.

PureCourage
06-14-2003, 03:45 PM
www.webmonkey.com and www.webdeveloper.com

Turboguy
06-16-2003, 11:49 PM
More websites are done with FrontPage than any other program by far so don't give up on it yet. Dreamweaver does write cleaner code than FrontPage but that is no big deal and Frontpage is a lot easer to use than Dreamweaver or Go live. Most pros use all the programs depending on what they are doing.

Let me talk about the tables first. Central Mass is right on with his advice. Think of it this way. You make a table the size of your page, then you "nest" other tables inside that one to get your layout. In other words if you have a full sized table and you want buttons on the left 1/4 of the page you set two tables inside the bigger one. One to the left set for 25% of page width and the other to the right set at 75% You can further break that down if you want and you can assign backgrounds to the tables or the whole page.

Now as far as the navigation, to be honest I am not following exactly what you are saying. To learn the program why don't you start with one of FrontPage themes. They have the buttons already in. Ok now to get them to work go to the navigation view. On the left you will see a list of all your files. On the right will be boxes, perhaps just one that will say home page or index html. To add a page to the navigation structure just hold your curser over the file name on the left. Hold that left button down, don't let up and drag it over into the other panel just below the home page button. You will see an elastic band go up to the home page button. Once it does that, let go and that page will be in your navigation view. After that you can change your navigation just by moving those boxes in the navigation view.

Another easy way to start is to go somewhere where they sell templates that are really neat and not that expensive. My suggestion is www.pixelmill.net. You can have a really sharp site in a few hours.

Turboguy
06-17-2003, 05:53 PM
In my last post I was suggesting you might want to consider buying a nice pre-made template. Right after I suggested that I came across a site here that did exactly what I had suggested which was use FrontPage and a nice template to make a really nice site. If you want to see a good example of what I am talking about check out www.hlandscape.com

DannyHatt
09-08-2003, 12:43 AM
One of the problems with Tables is that you are designing your page on your own setting, say 1024x768 for example.

The problem is that when someone comes to your site with an 800 x 600 setting, it mya not look right.

In Front Page when making a table, when you are done making everything you want to make, right click on the table, properties, and change the specify height to a percentage instead of a number.. same with the width. Do this for each of the cell properties also.

Just a thought for ya!
Danny

DannyHatt
09-08-2003, 09:38 PM
Originally posted by Turboguy
To learn the program why don't you start with one of FrontPage themes.

I agree. If you learn how to use Frontpage, it is not a bad program.

Like Turboguy said, find a theme and start their. Modify the theme, this will take a little time.

One you modify the theme, the buttons, or links, and the header will follow you in everypage, just click on the Navigation button .

If you update front page online, you can get new themes free, they actually have quite a few.

Turboguy
09-09-2003, 11:41 AM
Danny had some good suggestions there on FrontPage. You do need to be careful when nesting tables that if you have the main table set for 100% that the other tables don't add up to more ( like 3 tables inside set for 40% each.

The advantage of doing it as Danny suggested is that you want your page to occupy the full screen without your viewer needing to move the scroll bar to see everything.

On themes, I don't know what happened to the link I gave a few replys ago in this thread, but I just noticed it no longer works.

I am in a little different end of the business than most of you but I do have about 5 sites created with FrontPage and with several hundred pages on the interent so I do have a little knowlege of FrontPage and am happy to pass along any of that where I can. If anyone is wording with FrontPage and has questions that they can't get an answer to here www.frontpagewebmaster.com is a really good source of help.

There are two options for using FrontPage themes or Templates. One is to use a standard theme that comes with FrontPage and of course is free. It is a good way to have a site up quickly and to learn about the navigation structure. If you just follow the tutorial that comes with Frontpage you can be functional in a few hours. Here is one of my sites using a standard (Free) Front page theme www.strawblowers.com

Another option is that you can go to a site such as PixelMill that I gave a url to in a previous post in this thread and buy a very first class professional template or theme for anywhere from Free to $ 50.00. You don't want to mess with the page layout much. Just add your information and photos and publish it. Here are two of my sites using templates purchased from PixelMill. I think these are pretty sharp looking and the one time cost is no big deal. Check out www.TurfSprayers.com and www.IceControlSprayers.com You can also find some pretty nice free templates just by doing a search for "free frontPage Templates"

DannyHatt
09-09-2003, 11:58 AM
Turbo,

Question for ya?

During development, I always have a problem when i resize a table manually, the percentage gets changed to a fixed variable.

Anyway to set that,you must know what i mean:)

thx boss

Turboguy
09-09-2003, 06:40 PM
Are you "dragging" the edges of the table to the desired size? That has always, in my experienced, messed up the settings. Try setting the dimensions in the table properties box. Also make sure that any cells add up to the total setting. In other words if you have the inner cells adding up to more than 100% or if they are in pixels and the outer cell is set for 100% that can create a problem.

DannyHatt
09-09-2003, 08:26 PM
Got ya boss ..

Thanks,

Thats always been a pain, i ll try it..

I usually do flash..., then jump it into FP to center it and that stuff..

Thanks again..Danny