PDA

View Full Version : john deere z-track mowers


cntryboymc
06-09-2003, 11:51 PM
hello,im new to this site.i have a couple ?'s.i have a john deere z track mower(23 hp,54" cut).anyone have one?any feedback on these?also what do people like for pickups?i have two chevys and am considering a new truck.thank you.

Envy Lawn Service
06-10-2003, 12:13 AM
Welcome to Lawnsite, your new fountain of knowledge!!!

Z Trak M 600 series? As in like M 655 and so forth?

As for trucks, I've gotten good service out of Fords. So I stick with what works for me and gives me good service life. I probably should go shopping for at least a Super Duty. But I'm a simple man and I get by with my Ranger XLT.

cntryboymc
06-10-2003, 12:16 AM
it is a 737 ztrack mower.seems to be pretty good,much faster than jd 345 that i had last year.

DLCS
06-10-2003, 12:22 AM
Welcome to Lawnsite. I run a 2002 JD 757. What series are you talking about 600, 700, or the M series? I like Fords and Chevys have both, 2002 Silverado and 1989 f-250 Diesel both 4x4s.

cntryboymc
06-10-2003, 12:29 AM
it is a jd 737-54" cut.any thing bad heard about gm hd 2500 pickups 2001 and newer?

cntryboymc
06-10-2003, 12:36 AM
how much did bagger cost for z track mower?

DLCS
06-10-2003, 12:39 AM
I gave around $1100 for the bagger, does a good job but needs to be bigger fills up to fast. I like the peco units but I wanted the bags so its easier to dump into the pickup truck.

WPLE
06-10-2003, 12:40 AM
I just got a 737 this past winter. Had some pitch problems with the deck but three trips to the dealer and a call to John Deere fixed that problem. Been very pleased ever since. Seems to be a very tough machine.

As for puckup, I am currently on my second F150 and looking to upgrade to a 350 this winter, got to pay for this lawnmower first.
Love Ford trucks but that is what I have been been around all my life. Very good local dealer. That is the real difference.

gpriddy
06-10-2003, 10:11 AM
ive got the f680 ztrak, out front a little for the hills I mow helps a great deal.
I was recently looking at the MCS (material collection system) for the JD and dealer quoted $1700. This sounds high since it doesn't have an independant drive engine, it runs off the mower deck pulleys, anyone have a comment.

Love the JD Ztrak and Ford p/ups

Potomac Lawns Inc.
06-10-2003, 10:06 PM
Well I have the f620 ztrak with a 54" 7 iron deck it works great, I am also considering a bagger the mower is 3 years old and has 531 hours on it and still runs great.

Steve
Potomac Lawns Inc.

Husker1982
06-11-2003, 12:16 AM
I have all Deere equipment (mowers, trimmers, blowers). Great equipment.

As far as trucks all chevys here.

reelgrass92
06-11-2003, 12:24 AM
I believe JD makes great equipment, but a friend brought up a questionnaire about the JD trimmers, the wires sticking out on the side, I didn't really think that was necessary. I believe they would be in the way, but hey! They may be great trimmers.

WPLE
06-11-2003, 12:32 AM
I have had three Deere mowers, love them. Ztrack is my first commercial mower, the others where LX178's.

But, I trust my two cycle equipment to STIHL. JD's prices just seem outragous to me. REEL is right about the exposed wires, seem to easy to get caught on something.

LAWNGODFATHER
06-11-2003, 01:39 AM
DLCS/Mike, that mower seen/cut grass yet?

Looks way to clean dude;)

DLCS
06-11-2003, 01:44 AM
Originally posted by LAWNGODFATHER
DLCS/Mike, that mower seen/cut grass yet?

Looks way to clean dude;)


I wash the mowers every couple of weeks. I took that picture before the start of the season so it was extra clean. lol

onemancrew
06-11-2003, 02:01 AM
I have a JD 737 54", have 10 hours on it now. I love it! Just bought it a week ago! It runs great and cuts awesome.:p

As far as trimmers go it's Shindaiwa all the way for me!


Nothing runs like a Deere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

deere ZTR
06-12-2003, 10:35 PM
Any thoughts or comments on the deere 797 with digital fuel injected Kawasaki ???

LAWNGODFATHER
06-12-2003, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by onemancrew
Nothing runs like a Deere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nothing runs like a Kohler, but all you got a choice of now is Kawisaki.

I got an old '70s L&G Deere has a 14hp Kohler on it, been under water in 2 floods and still runs good after I cleaned all the mice junk out of it.

bayfish
06-13-2003, 12:14 AM
I don't own any JD mowers so ca't comment.
I have a 2000 Ford F250 powerstroke, love it. It covers anything I want to do. I have a dump trailer for mulch and top soil, a 1/2 ton would not do as well.

WPLE
06-13-2003, 12:19 AM
Do any of you know if it is possible to run doubles on 737's?

LAWNGODFATHER
06-13-2003, 12:26 AM
It's possable on almost all mowers.

DLCS
06-13-2003, 01:00 AM
Originally posted by LAWNGODFATHER
Nothing runs like a Kohler, but all you got a choice of now is Kawisaki.

I got an old '70s L&G Deere has a 14hp Kohler on it, been under water in 2 floods and still runs good after I cleaned all the mice junk out of it.


I'm not surprised, those old Kohlers run forever. My dad had a '78 JD 314 with 14 hp kohler, never been rebuilt and still ran great until the day he sold it.

WPLE
06-13-2003, 01:27 AM
LGF,
Is there any spacers or anything to remove or to you just double the blades up and bolt them on. I tried just bolting them on but it seemed to me that it would be very difficult to get the lower blade to line up directly where it needed to be since there the guide did not protrude through the upper blade.

LAWNGODFATHER
06-13-2003, 01:38 AM
Not sure on your mower, tighten them down in a + pattern and see if they will hit anything.

Also you don't have to use the same length blades you can use 1 set that is shorter than the other blades on top of the lower blade.

DLCS
06-13-2003, 01:40 AM
Originally posted by WPLE
LGF,
Is there any spacers or anything to remove or to you just double the blades up and bolt them on. I tried just bolting them on but it seemed to me that it would be very difficult to get the lower blade to line up directly where it needed to be since there the guide did not protrude through the upper blade.


Your bottom blade will need to have a 5/8" hole. JD blades have 3/4" hole to fit over the locater on the spindle.

WPLE
06-13-2003, 01:47 AM
Thanks guys!! ;)