PDA

View Full Version : Please briefly explain 1st day

lawndreamer
06-11-2003, 02:25 PM
If you will take the short time, please explain your first day in the business. What brung you to your decision to do how did u get your first customer. Just briefly would be fine. Detailed if u have time.

Grassmechanic
06-11-2003, 03:29 PM
I was a professional Grounds Mgr. I did things for family/friends on side. Got sick of my job (loooong story) and went out on my own. All my work is from referrals. I pick and chose where I work. I turn down work and people still throw money to get me on their property. I don't mow, only gardening, landscaping, and fertilizing. All my clients are high end properties.

Mike

walker-talker
06-11-2003, 03:44 PM
I knew I always wanted a business, but not sure in what industry. A friend of mine had a lawn mowing business and wanted out because of his health. I bought it and went from there.

MATT

LAWNGODFATHER
06-11-2003, 04:08 PM
I needed poker money and asked the neighbors to mow their lawns so I could get some. Not saying I lost it, just takes more to sit and play poker at age 8 than $5 when you have a $1 antie.

Phishook
06-11-2003, 04:15 PM
Was about to graduate with an A.S. Needed a job. New a guy that was getting out of it for health reasons. Gave him $1000 for something like 35 accounts. His wife kept things going for a few months until I graduated. Plus we split the gross income from those two months, 40% for them/60% for me. I thought I was rich those two months.

Tbarchaser
06-11-2003, 11:55 PM
Great thread,
I was a broadband installer working in new subdivisions and hated my job. So I started asking those cust about l lawn care, They were just moving in to a brand new house..... I then landed an account.... with no equipment!