PDA

View Full Version : I have a tax id... now what?

madmow
06-11-2003, 05:16 PM
Hey All, This is my first year (by myself) in the business. I have a tax ID and a business account. How do I get taxes automatically taken from me? How do I pay sales tax regularly? I would like to know because for years I worked at places that just took these fees from me automatically. I am not sure how to go about calculating everything and I don't want to be considered a scrub. I also want to build my credit so I can use the money I have made to get myself a loan in the future. I worked for a guy who didn't report a lot of stuff and I just don't want to be that guy.

Here's is what I have:
Tax ID
Business Account
Liability insurance
Commercial Insurance for my truck

Now what?!

Thanks

Lombardi
06-11-2003, 05:20 PM
You can get set up to pay your taxes quarterly if you want. The amount is an estimated amount of what you think you might earn in that time. Talk to your tax person first.

madmow
06-11-2003, 05:21 PM
who is my tax person? An account? Can I do my taxes online?

Lawn Tek
06-11-2003, 06:18 PM
Find an accountant now .
Don't risk tax advice on a forum

madmow
06-11-2003, 06:20 PM
what kind of accountant specifically? Do they have small business accountants? Is this expensive?

Thanks

Turf Medic
06-11-2003, 06:23 PM
You need to find a CPA. However, are you doing this part time? Do you have a full time job? How much do you think you will make with the lawncare this year?

gogetter
06-11-2003, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by madmow
what kind of accountant specifically? Do they have small business accountants? Is this expensive?

Thanks

Madmow, pick up the phone book! :D
Look under Accountants. Look for ads that say "specializing in small business" (I'm even looking at an ad right now that says "new start ups, small business services").