PDA

View Full Version : Drainage problem

Barkleymut
06-12-2003, 10:23 AM
My house has standing water under the deck in the back yard. Its only an inch or two deep and only stays for a couple days after rain. But since December it has rained at least twice a week here. That means almost always we have water up against the brick and cinder block foundation which I'm sure is not good. So I dug a little trench around past the side of the house to the front yard which slopes downward. It does a great job, no more standing water. Now I have a trench right where I wanted to put a patio and I also want my very young kids to be able to play out there. So how do I fill the trench? Drainage rock? Connect PVC pipes to where I want it to drain to? Also if I use the rocks can I put soil and grass seed on top or will this just clog up the flow of H2O?

I am a total drainage rookie and would appreciate any and all suggestions.

BRL
06-12-2003, 04:36 PM
Do a search (and maybe also post this, or get a mod to move it there?) in the Landscaping Forum. We've had a few drainage discussions full of lots of good info, that will help you past the rookie stage. Can you take a picture of the area in question & post it? There are several ways to go about it, and seeing it without guessing what exactly you mean would make it easier to give the best potential solutions. Basics would be to regrade so that the soil slopes away from your foundation first off. Then if there is a low point that collects water, the water can be redirected from there, but like I said there can be 3 or more ways to do that for each situation. If you can't post a picture, maybe a little sketch of what's going on?

DKinWA
06-12-2003, 04:49 PM
Barkleymut-