PDA

View Full Version : Ferris IS3000 DEMO

MOW ED
06-13-2003, 07:40 AM
Well by luck or not I was behind because of a rain out and I called my dealer to see if he had any demos. A Ferris IS3000 came in and he let me use it for a couple days.

I am a Walker operator in real life but man was I impressed by the suspension of the Ferris. The mower i had was a 25HP Kawi which isn't my first choice but it was what the demo came with. I can say that the suspension system is UNREAL. It works as advertised. I have some very rough lawns that beat me to death on a Walker and this mower sailed over them.
We had tremendous growth because of alot of rain and the mower did a nice job of cutting.

For an all out production mower this thing did fine by me. It also climbed hills like a goat. It did better than the Walker on some of my challenging properties.

I have it for another day (Friday) and this is the big test. Steep riverside hills.

I am still going to demo the Exmark and the Hustler within the next few weeks but so far this guy is a tough competitor. I know it beats the heck out of a Scag and a Yazoo/Kees in all respects.

Lombardi
06-13-2003, 10:07 AM
I looked at the one that has a 72" deck and the Cat diesel. Looks like a good machine. Has anyone demoed this one yet?

TLS
06-13-2003, 11:11 AM
Open ends on the front frame rails.....Just looking for junk to get in there.

Not a very deep looking deck.

Very high spring towers. The dust caps on top of the casters is the normal height of a ZTR, the spring towers look to be almost a foot taller! Can you say "getting in the way of low branches?"

Very LONG looking chassis. Website puts the dimensions similar to most 60" class machines, but this somehow looks longer?

1223lbs is rather fat for an AC ZTR!

Small drive tires, and narrow casters for that matter too.