PDA

View Full Version : Stand on mowers?

Rather Be Fishing
06-13-2003, 05:39 PM
I realize I'm a newbie here on the forum but I'm certainly no newbie to lawncare. That said, if this is the wrong forum...

(and yes, I've been browsing with the SEARCH feature)

Here's my deal. Currently I have 2 nearly antique 36" walk behinds (Kees and Encore, the Encore has been a fantastic unit, the Kees is more a backup/novelty). As it is I'm only mowing on a part-time basis to suppliment my landscape work. Recently I've been getting more and more mowing inquiries, so naturally I've been checking out and pricing new equipment. The properties I'm considering are just too much for a 36" mower to be profitable on.

I'm torn behind a rider or a stand-up unit. I considered a larger walk behind but I'm getting older and to tell the truth I'm flat sick of walking (I despise Velkies, -not even an option!!). The guys I know in the biz swear by their Exmark Lazers, and from a comfort standpoint I can see why.

For those of you using the stand-on mowers, I'm curious how well you like them and what your overall opinions are. I've seen a few folks running them around here, just didn't want to interfere with their work to "talk shop". Salesmen are of no real assistance...Would you recommend these types of mowers for a one man operation? Any specific reason you chose these over riders, and if you had to make the choice again, which would you choose?

I'd appreciate your opinions/recommendations/complaints. :cool:

Have a great weekend!:)

mowerman90
06-13-2003, 06:32 PM