PDA

View Full Version : residential lawn mowing pricing in upstate ny

cntryboymc
06-14-2003, 05:09 PM
i am a part time lawn landscaper.i have late model john deere and stihl equipment.i feel that i do very good work at a reasonable price. my problem is this:how do i know if im charging to little or too much.mowers in my area charge from $20-$40 hr.i try to look at how along a yard will take and estimate from there.i am asking this because i recently mowed a lawn for a surgeon who had about an acre of lawn.the lawn had a lot of landscaped beds,a pool,and fencing to deal with.not to mention grass was extremely high.i charged $85 and it took2.5 hrs.this included picking up debris,mowing,string trimming,blowing off driveway,and raking up excess grass clippings.any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

brucec32
06-18-2003, 02:48 AM
I've heard some things here and there that indicate that the economy isn't too hot there. But here in Atlanta, with a ZTR, not a lawn tractor or wb, 2.5 hours on-site would be more like $120, at least. And I haven't had to rake clippings up in years. Try to arrange it so you get back in time to be able to disperse them with your mower as you mow. Much faster.

Ax Man
06-18-2003, 08:18 AM
I'm in a more depressed area than you, and get about 50% more.
You have a few things to do.
Keep a log of time on each job.
Measure each job completely.
Figure what your costs of doing business are.
Some math, and you should be profitable.
It's tough working in an area where people figure they can make a little money to help pay for thier new mower. But I can tell you for sure that at 20 per hour you won't even have enough to pay the tax man after you get done with imediate expenses, let alone your self.
Drop me a line if you need more help. I'm only an hour away.

AztlanLC
06-18-2003, 01:18 PM
I think the price was right, is only the equipment that you used that will keep you from getting more per hour.