PDA

View Full Version : Any thoughts on a WeedMan Franchise?????

ChicagoLawn
06-19-2003, 08:09 PM
After 10 years in the lawn maintenance business I am seriously thinking of buying "into" a lawn care franchise.

I have been doing lawn care in house for about 3 years (prior 7 years sub-contracted to TruGreen/Chemlawn).

Anyone do any homework on the various lawn care franchises?

Where am I going wrong???? It seems that if you are "weak" in marketing it makes sense.

Thanks in advance,

ChicagoLawn

kickin sum grass
06-19-2003, 09:16 PM
there are 2 new weed man here in cincy. One is only a mile from me. That guy had a good size operation and then decided to buy weed man. I am not sure why. I would like to find out. I realize the are a support team and advertise etc. for you but you will always owe them money and have to make their numbers, answer to them when numbers are not good or growth rate is slow. It seems like you would be working for them rather than for yourself. It would always bother me to owe a percentage of my income to someone. It seems like you could take a loan for advertising heavy (billboards, tv, radio, etc) and increase your clientel and build a name for yourself. Once the debt is paid, the profit is all yours.

J&R
06-19-2003, 09:35 PM
I had US Lawns call me. with there offer they said there fee was 29,000.00 so i told them the first lawn i cut for them i would charge them 69,000.00

greensummer
06-19-2003, 10:01 PM
Weed Man does not send out flyers but are heavily into telemarketing.

Start your own.

;)

Enviro Green
06-19-2003, 10:34 PM
kickin sum grass

Amen, That's why I have my own. It might be nice to have the help at the beginning, but later on, you pay, and pay big time, what if you want to sell out?

EG

windmill
06-20-2003, 12:27 PM
We have a Weed Man in town as well. I think he is doing reasonably well as he has been around for a few years.