PDA

View Full Version : anyone ever retrofit a stihl trimmer head on a shindiawa????


lawn gonzo
06-22-2003, 10:50 PM
I sure hate to bash my shindiawa, but the trimmer head is awful. My stihl heads are so much more easier to load with line. Anyone ever put a stihl head on a shindiawa? pls respond if you have.

Tbarchaser
06-22-2003, 11:00 PM
I just asked my dealer the same thing, he told me no!...
But mowerman90 said it can be done. I would really like to use the sthil spools on everything. I am sure someone here has done this.

greenman
06-23-2003, 12:06 AM
I like my Shindy as well, except for the head. The Stihl heads are much faster and easier to string.

jason r.
06-23-2003, 12:26 AM
I did. I put a Stihl Autocut 25-2 head on my Shindy T-230. Also put the same head on all my Echo trimmers. You just need to get the correct adapter from your STIHL dealer.

For Echo guys: Stihl part #4090-740-6802 (this will work on srm models 2100, 2100sb, 2400 for sure. Should fit many others but haven't tried myself.) Cost about $3.oo

For Shindaiwa guys: SORRY I lost the part #. I'll try and locate it and post it. If not just ask your Stihl dealer. I have a dealer who sells both Shindy and Stihl so he knew the # by memory. Cost about $3.oo

Potchkins
12-17-2003, 11:58 PM
verry verry cool

Tbarchaser
12-18-2003, 12:04 AM
Yep, I have had mine in place for 4 months now, the fun part is finding the right arbor!

ElephantNest
12-18-2003, 01:09 AM
Same here, Shins with stihl heads. I use the shin heads until they wear out, then switch to the stihl.

Potchkins
12-19-2003, 12:32 AM
part #? for shin

Ryan Lightning
12-19-2003, 12:47 AM
Which shidaiwa head are taking about, being hard to load? The one with multiple peices is a pain, But the ones I use only have a one peice spool, and I can load it in less than 2 minutes, thats from the time Im at the truck til Im starting the machine. Ive timed it just to see how fast I could do it.

ElephantNest
12-19-2003, 01:07 AM
Not the loading that is a problem, they just wear out too fast.