PDA

View Full Version : Bermuda Grass 4" below final grade

StuBaby
07-01-2003, 06:43 PM
Hello, great BB you all have here. I'm just getting started in the business, and already, I think I have bitten off more than I can handle.
My client has had a time with his home, poory constructed in 1985, the whole front rotted away 3 years ago and needed to be rebuilt. He decided to make lemonade out of lemons and add a large covered porch, retaining wall, circular driveway, whole front of house now covered in 1" of stucco and flagstone. He had a bad time with contractors of questionable integrity and project lasted close to 2 years. Everybody mixed their concrete and washed their mixers on his front yard. Between the concrete water waste infiltrating 40% of his yard (total yard ~25,000 sq ft) and the bobcat he used to move dirt around, his yard is one big cinderblock. We had a drought last year in NC and only Bermuda Grass grew. Last July he had the only green yard (Bermudagrass) because no one was allowed to water their lawns.

Given his yard had a Moh's scale hardness of 10, he tilled it to pieces and of course, infested his soil with Bermuda grass. Now little wires are popping up all over, but most of the property is exposed clay. He has graded his property 4" below its final grade and plans to put 4" of top soil over it, install sprinkler system and seed. He is overwhelmed and has requested my services.

I am aware of how nasty Bermuda grass is and it seems that it is bound to return no matter what I do for him. Given that he plans to place 4" of topsoil over this mess, and that right now, he has only clay and spriggs of Bermuda, that we are coming into the hottest months of the summer, I feel I have some time to be as aggressive as possible before seeding in 2 months.