PDA

View Full Version : Is a shapener necessary

LilRabbit
07-07-2003, 01:03 PM
I have been sharpening my blades for 5 years with an angle grinder, if I purchased a professional sharpener for around $800 would I wonder how I got along without it?

Rustic Goat
07-12-2003, 03:44 AM
Lots of opinions about this on this forum.
Personally, I use an angle grinder, don't see how spending $800. or more could really make that much difference, except in lowering my bank account.
Blade balancers are a different story, MagnaMatic is THE one to have.

mtdman
07-13-2003, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by Rustic Goat
Personally, I use an angle grinder, don't see how spending $800. or more could really make that much difference, except in lowering my bank account.

Ditto.

:D

Magna-Matic
07-15-2003, 11:49 PM
Hello,

Please note our lawn care professional model of sharpener is $551.

What will a sharpener do for you:

1. Give you the SAME angle on your blade every time (consistantly)

2. Allow you to sharpen a blade in approx 60 seconds (saving you time)

3. Control your costs of blade maintenance.

See this cost analysis to see the costs of a sharpener over one season.

http://www.magna-matic.com/educate/cost_analy_9000.html

Thank you for your time,

brucec32
07-15-2003, 11:56 PM
Funny, I used a grinder for years and got by, but my blades weren't perfect. Then I got a blade sharpener and it's better but still no picnic to get them done.

What I have never done is balance blades, other than using common sense when sharpening and taking off roughly the same amount of metal. Yet for some reason I've never had vibration problems or had to replace a spindle, ever, in 12 years.

I bought a fairly new mower used recently and its blades were badly unbalanced. I sharpened them up and they were better. Why am I getting so lucky with blades?

A1 Grass
07-17-2003, 08:39 PM
$25.00 angle grinder and a little finesse.

Total time on each blade - about 5 minutes.