PDA

View Full Version : first trailer

mr. k
07-15-2003, 01:02 PM
I was wondering if anyone would be able to give me some input on my first trailer. I am just starting out, so I don't want something too big and expensive. I have a 91 F150 to pull the trailer. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Rich

glenjr10
07-15-2003, 03:49 PM
buy the biggest trailer that your budget can afford. I personally have a 7' X 16' trailer and am wishing it would be 2 feet longer. One word of advise would be to check the length of the ramp against the height of the deck. When I purchased mine, I bought it with 16" rims and 7.5-16 tires. First time I loaded my machine on my trailer, I could not get it off, due to the angle of the ramp. My uncle made me an extension to go on my existing gate, and now it works out perfectly fine. DO a lot of research and this site has a wealth of information on anything dealing with the lawn care business.

Good luck in your endeavours.

just grass
07-16-2003, 03:48 PM
i ordered my trailer a 5x10, front box, power rack, water cooler rack and blower rack, with spare tire, i left the trailer with a borrowed trailer to pick up my mower, i haven't even loaded my mower and i called the guy and ordered 6x12. the bigger the better but you also have to look at storage and the equipment you have, or will be purchasing down the road so you don't have to be buying a trailer every couple of years.

Green Pastures
07-16-2003, 04:06 PM
8 x 24 enclosed.

just grass
07-16-2003, 04:46 PM
dont forget the ramp lenght is important too. if my depth is lower then 3inches it catches on the edge of the trailer and ramp

harpoonalt
07-16-2003, 06:23 PM