PDA

View Full Version : Starting Up

kingparsy
07-18-2003, 02:46 PM
i am thinking about starting a lawn care business up in my area...huntsville alabama, and need some tips on how to get customers, and what to do in the winter, or do you make enough money if youre good to stay off in winter, because there is no snow in alabama,,heh heh . What are my basic needs to start with,,i know riding lawnmwer, weedeater, blower, and what else....do i need to be bonded?..and since its a service, do i need a business lic.?...any help would be greatly appreciated

A1 Grass
07-21-2003, 09:57 PM
Welcome K P,

I am still a newbie myself, but I hate to see your post go unanswered. Here's my 2 cents:

Start out as cheaply as possible (to see if you like it) with the best equipment for your money. A 32" commercial walk-behind will fit through most gates and is a lot easier to maneuver than a rider, plus a better cut.

I like an enclosed trailer because of the SCUMBAGS that like to help themselves to other peoples stuff.

I started with a used SCAG SW32 for $1500

an Echo srm210 trimmer (don't skimp on your trimmer) $220

Craftsman handheld blowers (they work fine) $60 ea

and a push mower for really small gates.

Other than that Insurance is always good.

Bus. lic. all depends on local laws - check the county courthouse

Hope this helps - keep checking back, I know that there are a lot of really knowledgeable people here!

kingparsy
07-21-2003, 11:56 PM
thanks alot, ive been wondering if anyone would take the time to answer my post,,your info has been well noted!!

chefdrp
07-21-2003, 11:57 PM
stay smaller for awile get used to your equipment and do a great job for a great price. Dont underbid because you need accounts, just bid a real bid and do a super job and lots more will come

Rustic Goat
07-22-2003, 02:21 AM
In this 'Starting up' forum, look for a thread by Eric Elm, Tips, do's and don'ts ....