PDA

View Full Version : Taking The Bait..........

ANDERSON
07-23-2003, 11:09 PM
I'm new at this as well. About two months ago I went out and purchased everything needed to get this going for me. I've been trying everything I think, flyers, word of mouth and knocking on doors. I don't want to kill the market rate, nor under cut competition. So what perks or bait has worked for you? I know its late in the season, but I would like to grab a few.

Sean Adams
07-24-2003, 08:54 AM
A good way to get started is with family and friends. Do a great job, and word of mouth will kick in. Also, try to work yourself into high profile areas where a lot of passerbys will see your work.

Being affordable does not necessarily mean lowballing. If you can cover your expense, overhead, etc... and make a decent profit, don't be afraid to name your price.

Flyers are a good inexpensive way to get going, as well as small local newspaper ads.

lugnut#6
07-24-2003, 11:44 AM
i know how ya feel anderson...im in the same boat...boy,my wife is getting upset about it.:rolleyes:

G&Plawn
07-24-2003, 05:20 PM
hey check out my bonus program and see whta you thik it may help if yo got any accounts that this may work with.

tiedeman
07-25-2003, 08:57 PM
offer referral bonuses to employees and referral discounts to current customers

Lombardi
07-26-2003, 11:36 AM
It is going to be very slow for you starting out this time of year. I started at the same time a few years ago and was getting discouraged. But, I hung on and now I actually turn down mowing jobs because I am too busy. If you are really serious about being successful, plan on using a lot of your savings, retirement, etc. to survive the first year or so. If you are professional and ethical, the jobs will then be rolling in on their own. Good luck.

DUSTYCEDAR
07-29-2003, 05:18 PM