PDA

View Full Version : Money Question

mrbenfer
07-27-2003, 03:30 AM
I am interested to know how the business owners pay themselves? I bring in money at the end of the month and put it into the business. I dont really know the correct way to pay myself.

Do I take a % of my total earnings after I pay my overhead?
Do i pay myself a salory?

I'm new to running a business and would like in-site on how you take care of your money.

Thanks

P&P LawnCare*LandScape

Bob Minney
07-27-2003, 10:30 AM
I set myself a draw of $X per month. Transfered from business account to personal account.

GLAN
07-27-2003, 11:04 AM
Your a single operator correct?

What you make at the end of a week, month, year after expenses is yours.

Investing back into the company, your investing in yourself and your future.

As a sole proprietor. Any profit at the end is your income.

Incorporated. Then you would provide your self an income salary, based on a set salary or hourly wage. Taking a salary allows you the employee benefits from your business. Workers Comp. Disability. Unemployment................

Dr. Mow
07-27-2003, 11:54 PM
for the first year to year and a half I was a part timer, but i did start out with 61 ztr and 36 wb, every dime I made went directly back into the business. Been in business for 5 years now, and when I do payrol on fridays for my crew, my check is the first one I write.:D :D Always pay yourself first...;) ;) ;)

KenH
07-28-2003, 06:41 AM
Originally posted by GLAN
Your a single operator correct?

Incorporated. Taking a salary allows you the employee benefits from your business. Unemployment................

Unless you are an officer.......:rolleyes: :mad:

Grassmechanic
07-28-2003, 09:09 AM
I allow myself a salary duing the season that is just enough to get by on. Then, at the end of the year, after all bills are paid and all expenses are met for startup in the spring, I allow myself a hefty bonus.

mrbenfer
07-29-2003, 10:36 AM
Hey.. Thanks for all the input.