PDA

View Full Version : How did you guys Start Out?

Hometown Lawn Care
08-13-2003, 10:15 PM
did you guys start off with the most expensive eqipment you could get? or did you start off with Homeowners stuff and build your way up, please tell me your story :)

JR Lawns
08-14-2003, 12:34 PM
I am just starting out.. I use a craftsman mower, Yard Machines edger, and snapper trimmer.. Looker to get a gas blower soon. Hopefully if I can get some more customers soon I will start to upgrade my equipment.

FosterGroundsMaint
08-15-2003, 01:25 AM
This is my first season in business, but i think its going okay.
I began the season with a 22" Lawnboy push mower and a Homelite String Trimmer. I recently picked up a used Ransomes W/B for $500 and a trailer for $60. I'm trying to get moer into landscaping, though.

J&R
08-15-2003, 02:41 AM
I started with a snapper 30" rider , Lawnboy push, can't remember what trimmer i had. that was 20 years ago. Now to much stuff.

CSRA Landscaping
08-16-2003, 01:29 AM
ZE-RO knowledge of turf or ornamentals. Had a JD 318 that was given to me, as well as a borrowed B&S push mower, borrowed trailer, borrowed truck, homelite weedeater, poulan hedgetrimmers & blower, various hand tools givien to me ... actually the hedge trimmers and blower came about a month after I started ... the blower locked up on me (duh) and I managed to sell the hedgetrimmers for $60! :D

CoachLinz
08-17-2003, 11:10 PM
I started this year. I had set aside a certain amount as a start-up budget and went from there. I bought a used 48" Ransomes Bobcat walkbehind, Echo trimmer, Echo backpack blower, pickup truck, and ramps. I already had a 21" mower, but the only I need that on right now is my own back yard anyway. Everything fits easily in the bed of the truck.

Mower - $1000
Truck - $2100 + $800 in repairs to pass state inspection