PDA

View Full Version : Small Tools with KEYS (ASDFGHJKL:)


MOW ED
10-06-2000, 07:29 AM
This is not a tool that is related to anything you might use on the lawn but it is a tool that helps you work smarter. (esp. since you visit Lawnsite)

My question is what type of computers do you folks have and also what type of internet connection are you currently using? If you want you can post what that connection costs per month?

I am on a HP 6470 - 400mhz Pentium II (not the fastest but fast enough now) I currently am on a cable modem thru Time-Warner N.E. Wisconsin and its 39.00 per month. Recently upgraded from a 56k phone connection that cost 22 per month and I will never go back. This cable is lightening fast.

Eric ELM
10-06-2000, 07:52 AM
I have a HP 8380 - 400mhz Pentium II with a DVD, CD R/W, Zip, TV Card and Sony Trinitron 17" Monitor. My scanner, printer and digital camera are all HP. I have DSL connection at $39.95 a month which is about the same price I was paying for a second line and an ISP, but a lot faster. Not bad for an old man, but would like to upgrade to a newer faster puter soon. :)

JJ Lawn
10-06-2000, 11:35 AM
The one that I am using now is a Dell GX100 with a 550 celery processor.(don't laugh) It has a Starband 2-way satellite system set up in it. It sends an receive's via a dish. (no modem) Right now it is not costing anything as it is in a pilot program. It is not cable modem nor DSL but for a rural setting without the possibity of neither it is not a bad set up.

I also have a PC set up with Direcpc that I have been using for the last 2 yrs. That is send modem and receive satellite. (when it works) That has been costing me 49.99 a month. ISP is free, well we trade services. But if this Starband system works like it is now, DPC will be history.

Jim

Keith
10-06-2000, 08:46 PM
I have a home built Pentium MMX 233 overclocked to 250 (cooking with gas now) system. The system also includes a Diamond Viper 550 vid card, and Sound Blaster Live sound, as well as a Diamond Supra Express modem, now realing in info via a blistering 26400bps connection :) Also a SuperDisk drive and Viewsonic 17 inch monitor. I originally built it to use the, then new K6 3 450mhz AMD processor, unfortunatley I could not get it to work properly and opted for $46 Intel processor to get it running. I had every intention of building an Athlon system, but do to this great connection I have, I've lost interest.

At my old residence I could knock down a solid 52 k connection, but not here. The phone lines are crap. I am 11 miles from cable service and 2 miles from DSL. Really DSL should be available according to DSL Reports. The real kicker is that if my computer was at my shop I could have DSL.

TLS
10-06-2000, 08:48 PM
Dell, 933Mhz, 128mb RDRAM, 64mb GeForce Video, DVD, Zip 250, 19" Trinitron, 56K US Robotics ISP @ $14.95/month. Its great to have Tommy's Lawn Service buy me one every 3 yrs. Always get top of the line and I love to play video/simulation games in my spare time.

Richard Martin
10-07-2000, 03:05 AM
I use a homebuilt computer. It has an Amptron PM8600 mainboard, I replaced the bios chip last year, 233 Pentium MMX, 64 megs EDO RAM, 33k6 USR voice modem, Sound Blaster 16, 3dfx Voodoo3 w/32 megs video RAM, Western Digital HD, Torisan 24X CD-ROM, Acer 6206A CD-RW, Samsonics 55V 15" monitor. My connection to the web is free thanks to AOL.

TGCummings
10-07-2000, 10:19 AM
Dell XPS T700r (700 MHz Processor), 50x CD ROM, 128 RAM, 20 Gig Hard Drive.

This baby was top of the line when I ordered it in February, but barely checks in at 'average' now. Such is the industry... :)

I'm still on 56K modem because DSL is unavailable in my rural community. Will upgrade, though, when it is...

-TGC

Toddppm
10-07-2000, 07:24 PM
Sony VAIO, 233mhz ,17" Sony monitor, AOL for now , i've been waiting for my DSL through earthlink for about 1 1/2 mths now, their support sucks, finally got a install date last week, waited for them all morning , they had cancelled the appt. but didn't call just sent an email to account i didn't have! hope it's worth it. AOL $22/mth DSL/$49

Getmow
10-10-2000, 09:52 AM
Unfortunately I have a COMPAQ presario. Yes, I own a 25hp kohler too.

Keith
10-10-2000, 04:05 PM
I just decided to upgrade. I just ordered an AMD Athlon 850 cpu, ABIT board and new tower and 128meg of PC133 Micron memory.

Keith
11-04-2000, 06:24 PM
Well, I got my 850 Thunderbird screamer going. Then the USB scanner cable or short in the motherboard fried the board :mad: So now I am waiting on pieces to put it back together. I had to put my old 250 MMX back together, man this sux.

plymouthvaliant73
11-04-2000, 09:31 PM
Compaq Presario at 380mhz and a Diamond Supra Express external 56K modem.

There are at least a half dozen FREE 56K dial up ISP's with local access numbers.

I have installed four: Alta Vista, Juno, NetZero and Barnes and Noble.

All connect faster and provide more reliable service than the for-pay ISP's not getting any more money from me: Earthlink and First Internet Alliance.

Twotoros
11-04-2000, 09:40 PM
Micron 533 p3 250zip on earthlink @56k. DSL or cable modem at the years end as my podunk town is just arriving in 1997 later this year.

landscaper3
11-04-2000, 11:02 PM
We need a new computer as Eric himself knows I have had many problems with my Packard piece of @#%^& Bell. We are looking at gateway from a local dealer and 1-800 support. My Packard bell will become a nice target to try my new AR15 on!!!

thelawnguy
11-05-2000, 01:43 PM
Build your own. its not hard, its half price of a boxed one with the latest technology and at least you arent stuck with a tower full of proprietary parts you have to ship of to some cow barn in "gateway Country" and wait six weeks for it to be fixed. Ex., a 300 dollar Dell motherboard you need to send out for or a 49 dollar Asus you can pick up at the PC Farm around the corner?

Take a locally given class in PCs and forget about the 1-800 support nonsense.

jeffyr
11-05-2000, 03:39 PM
I'm a mac guy.

450 mghz G4 with 256 megs RAM, 20 gig hd, firewire and USB.
I am elcheapo when it comes to internet...FREE.
I use Freeinet and I always get on around 44,000.
I also just tried Freeservers.com through excite and it seems to work fine. The only drawback is the ad bar at the top...but if you dial up through remote access and never launch the IP software, you never get the ad bar !

Let's take bets. Mr. Stone is using a 386 that he rebuilt with 8 megs of RAM and a 160 meg HD.

What do you think ?


jeffyr