PDA

View Full Version : Do not Lowball #1

John Burton
08-22-2003, 09:45 PM
For the new guys,
First thing is run a good and ethical business.
For all the fly by night company's out there they are called cuthroaters, you will come into contact with some one day.
Never low ball the price on a job or you will be out of business soon.
My idea is this- Price it to make money not to pay the bills.
If you low ball jobs you will only pay bills, and you will never grow into a profitable business.
Price it to make money not to pay the bills

Always reasearch, I have been in Landscape and Lawn business
for 8 years and I am still learning.

JB Ga.

Team Gopher
08-23-2003, 08:24 AM
Great insight John :)

Port City Lawncare
08-23-2003, 01:04 PM
I agree that you shouldn't low ball every yard, but maybe some of you guys who take advantage of customers who are willing to pay such high dollar amounts should start doing a better job, then you wouldn't have to have me breathing down your throat. This isn't directed at you JB personally, but you catch my drift. I worked as a foreman for 9 years before deciding to open my own business, so I know a little about complacency

DUSTYCEDAR
08-23-2003, 01:42 PM
i have found that many people have a number in there head when they get an estimate mainly on lawn mowing lets say 20 for a 1/4 acer yard because they have been paying this for years to a company doing a sloppy job. u tell them 25 or 30 and think u are ripping them off. or better yet they want it cheaper than 20.
stand you're ground on prices and u will be okpayup

chefdrp
08-23-2003, 11:35 PM