PDA

View Full Version : Mycorrhizal fungal inoculants

Enjoy Life Ronnie
09-05-2003, 05:44 PM
I'm new to the organic approach but have been in business long enough to believe that there must be a better approach than using fungicides… which in my opinion put a Band-Aid on the sore without correcting the problems. And often that problem requires a physical change.

My question, after reading some of the interesting posts on corn meal is… does it have similar effect on plants as mycorrhizal fungal inoculants that I have used with limited success on plant stress? Limited mostly because very few customers notice a sick tree until it's on deaths door. I inject into soil and it helps if used before it's too late. <B>Can you inject corn meal into ground? And what would the effect be?</B>

Also, has anyone put corn meal on golf greens when they are being soil relieved? This would penetrate the corn meal to a much deeper level.

We have about 45 days each year with temperatures over 100 and must keep the greens fairly wet or they will burn up. Bent grass greens that is. I would love to try the corn meal approach for one full year to see if it can do a better job than yhe fungicides. Now if I can sell the greens keeper. Thanks.

P.S. Thanks for creating this LawnSite. I expect to learn mucho.

:cool:

Dchall_San_Antonio
09-05-2003, 09:44 PM
I'll use my famous weasel words to start this off.

"I don't think" the corn meal adds any value when applied underground. "I think" the microbes that decompose fresh protein live on the top surface of the soil. After all when things die they usually die on the surface without spontaneously burying themselves.

woodycrest
09-05-2003, 10:35 PM
Ronnie,

I have certainly had success using corn to fertilize bent grass greens. THe water used to run off the greens like water flowing down a driveway, now the ground absorbs it like a sponge. Seems to me that would help keep the ground a little cooler.