PDA

View Full Version : Putting large tires on trucks?

allstar
09-18-2003, 10:11 AM
I know alot of people like to put large tires on their trucks and others like to do this AND jack them up.What are the consequences,both positive and negative.of doing this?I would assume that a truck with large tires would ride less smoothly?Would gas mileage be affected?What else?
I'm interested in trading my Ford Expedition and buying a new F150(I think the Lariat is the one I like most).I would like to put tires on it just A LITTLE BIT bigger than the standard ones.The reason is mainly cosmetic;I simply think it would look good.What do ya'll think of this decision?Also,what kind of reputation does this truck have?Over the years I've bought 2 Explorers and an Expedition,and they've been great,but I have very little knowledge about Ford trucks as well as trucks in general.I know alot of you guys have trucks and I would appreciate any advice you could give me. Jim

JohnK
09-18-2003, 12:56 PM
Gas mileage is effected, negativly, as is pulling power. When I went from 265/70/16's to 285/75/16 on my Suburban my mileage dropped about 10%.

Bigger tires and lift kits can also cause the suspension to wear sooner. If its a new truck lifting over a certain amount can void the warrenty as well.

henry2002
09-18-2003, 08:01 PM
If you are buying a newer truck buy one with 17" rims that make it look bigger with the 4x4. This should be big enough to do what ever you need and it still rides good and pulls good. If you want a bigger truck buy a 250 psd that will pull good. the 150 is the best selling truck. i have had two of them a 97 2 wheel drive and i just bought a 2001 4x4 lariet i love the leather is is ever forgiving. no problems with either one

HighGrass
09-20-2003, 02:19 AM
You risk wear and tear and a higher than normal center of gravity. For general work, they aren't that much use.

acetylene
09-22-2003, 11:03 AM