PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in N.E. Oklahoma

KuntryKuzzin
10-07-2003, 10:53 AM
Here we are near the end of mowing season in N.E. Oklahoma and I decide to start my own one man lawn service. Am I crazy or what?? Here is my story.

I have a neighbor with a teenage son who has been servicing local lawns for about the past 2 years or so. At the beginning of this summer, his dad went out and bought him a new trailer, Gravely walk behind and a little wonder blower. The agreement between the two was that the son would repay dad with the proceeds from his lawn service.

Which brings us to the end of the summer and all that dad has to show for his help is a big bank note, while junior has a new high dollar 4wheeler and a lot of expensive bass tournament entry fees, without any winnings to show. Now dad and mom are getting divorced and dad says sell the equipment. That is where I enter the picture.

By profession, I am a pipeline controller with a global oil and gas company, I work a rotating 12 hour shift, which means that i typically work 14 days a month and the remaining days are time off, fortunately 7 of those days off are consecutive. So I have alot of time off and didn't have much happening on those days, which brings me to my decision to start servicing lawns. Here is what I purchased to get started:

5 x 10 trailer w/fold down gate
Gravely Pro 1336G walk behind (80 Hrs)
Little Wonder Blower
$2600.00 (Purchased from Dad)

New Equipment:
Shin. T230X string trimmer
Shin. LE231 Edger
Stihl BR420C BP Blower
Gear Caddy
Misc. rakes, brooms, locks and so on.