PDA

View Full Version : I got dumped.

mower_babe
10-26-2003, 04:56 PM
Hi. As I posted less than a month ago, I was going to start raising my rates accordingly. Here is the damage report - the ones that responded - I kept all but one. The one that let me go? I raised her $2.50 per mowing. Oh-ya you read that right. $2.50. This lawn was averaging a little less than $20/hr and it had been at that rate for over 2 seasons. It was worth more, because she has all the little to-dos that needed done. She was very happpy with us, but apparently we weren't what she was needing anymore for another $50.00 a season. :angry: :(

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So, what have I learned? Well, it sucked to be dumped, but this is my job and I need to charge accordingly, so overall I am very happy that I sent out letters with last months bills with registration slips in them. I have never done it this way before and I like to know where I stand before next season. payup

Just thought I would share.

KenH
10-26-2003, 05:14 PM
One of my business creedos has always been if you get more than 50% of your estimates, your rates are too low.....if you get less than 50%, your rates are too high.

paponte
10-26-2003, 05:29 PM
Mower_Babe, when you raise prices you are more than likely going to lose customers. The thing you have to look at is the percentage that you lost.

If you were cutting 10 lawns at $20 a pop and only lost one account due to a $2.50 increase, your still ahead of the game but now only cutting 9. Always look at the revenue, not the lost houses. You just can't please everyone, but you can be a great business woman. ;)

Congrats on your raise! :cool:

tiedeman
10-26-2003, 06:01 PM
I am raising about 80% of my customers prices for next season. The contracts get sent out tomorrow and I can't wait for all the phone calls. It's going to be a fun day.

MOOSE
10-26-2003, 06:56 PM