PDA

View Full Version : need help with business name

firedog2710
11-08-2003, 12:29 AM
i already did a search within this topic and i couldn't find anything to help. as some of you already know and may have gathered from my username, i'm a full-time firefighter. i need a name for my new venture and i thought i'd use that as a hook to get people interested. my wife and i thought of "OFF-DUTY LAWN CARE". i announced it to the boys at the firehouse and i was informed that another firefighter, who retired about 6 yrs. ago, used that as his business name. they also told me that he merged with another lawn care business a few years ago and took it's name. i've looked in all the phone books around here and even called information and that particular lawn business name is not listed anywhere. i will contact him, but i haven't found anyone that has his number yet. i will continue to try. in the event that he doesn't want me using that name, i need a backup. please help.:cry:

Metro Lawn
11-09-2003, 09:15 AM
I am not sure if things are the same way where you are or not. Here, you have to register a D.B.A. ( Doing Business As ) with the county. When you go there, they have all the registered business names in a book. You can look through it to see if your name is taken. Our registrations last for 5 years. Even if the person that registered the name isn't using it, they won't let you have it until it expires. You can sometimes sneak one by if you change something a bit. Like with us. We are Metro Detroit Lanscaping as well as Metro Lawn Service. There are also Metro Lawn Maintenance, Metro Lawn Spray, and Metro Landscaping registered in our county. Seems if you change the wording a bit, they will take it. If your name is taken, you can try this as well. Off-Duty Lawn Maintenance or Off-Duty Grounds Maintenance ect.

Let it Grow
11-09-2003, 12:27 PM