PDA

View Full Version : Which Home Study Turfgrass Course

Bryn
01-20-2004, 10:37 PM
I was wondering what experience people have had with the Purdue and Georgia Turf grass study courses? Which one you would recommend, pros and cons to each course? Or maybe suggestions for other self study courses.

I'm looking at starting one of the courses to supplement my studying for my TN license in HLT.

Thanks

Bryn

Fvstringpicker
01-20-2004, 11:55 PM
I studied the course for the certified turfgrass professional exam from the University of Georgia and PLCAA. I found it fairly comprehensive.

Moguy
01-21-2004, 01:09 AM
Im waiting on course materials for that program from the University of Georgia. tiedeman, recommended it . Maybe he can add his two cents along with what Fvstringpicker already said.

kppurn
01-21-2004, 02:07 AM
Originally posted by Fvstringpicker
I studied the course for the certified turfgrass professional exam from the University of Georgia and PLCAA. I found it fairly comprehensive.

I found the PLCAA course to be informative also. Don't be like me though and get behind. ;)

When I started the course I was pretty busy but managed to study a little each night. Then I really focused on studying for my pest. applicators license and got behind. My year to complete the course was up and instead of filing for an extension, I decided to just finish it on my own. No plaque, no official certification, but the knowledge is what mattered most to me.

mtdman
01-21-2004, 07:14 AM
Which course at Georgia are we talking about? The certificate program, or the college credit program? I was looking at those as well.

SWD
01-21-2004, 08:17 AM
Depends what you want out of the course.
Check out Penn State's on-line courses. Provided the on-line information is comparable to their on campus info, you are going straight to the horse's mouth on turfgrass management info.

Randy J
01-21-2004, 06:55 PM