PDA

View Full Version : Estimating

citic solutions
01-21-2004, 10:44 PM
Hi...newbie here. Been in the business since August, so new that, also. I deal with commercial properties and landed in a rather large one to begin with - guess that's how I got my start. To get to the point: I'm doing pretty good on the business end and the maintenance end, but am blind on the estimating part. Basically, I've gone to a property and figured how long it would take a 2 man crew to do it and charged $25 per man hour i.e. 2 men @ 1 hour = $50. How off am I? I'm okay on figuring the time right, but just confused with the pricing. A little help would be wonderful. Thanks.

citic solutions
01-21-2004, 11:08 PM
I apologize...just realized that this should be in the "Just Starting Out" forum...I don't know how to move it over there, but if a moderator would move it, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

Turfdude
01-21-2004, 11:10 PM
Only you can decide this for yourself. You'll have to get an understanding of all of your costs (fixed + variable). To me, it sounds way to low. But, IMHO if you're paying your laborer minimum wage and your fuel is $.32/gal, and insurance costs are under $500/year, etc.... then I guess you're doing alright.

Now if you listen to some people here, they CLAIM to charge as much as $100/manhour for clean-up work. These must be the guys who have clients w/ mucho dinero and no common sense (not to mention the LCO's must have no scruples)!

DFW Area Landscaper
01-21-2004, 11:27 PM
$25 per man hour probably isn't enough.

Figure an employee runs you 8 to 12 per hour..use the high end as worst case...add another 7% for ss taxes, 10% for workmans' comp insurance, up to 8% for unemployment insurance...you're at $15 per hour...now add another 10% to allow your employees to work an average of 10 hours of overtime each week...$16.50 per hour. You've still got non-productive time, such as equipment maintenance, drive time, training, etc.