PDA

View Full Version : How many bags?

michindi
01-28-2004, 08:42 PM
Hey all! I am brand new to the business and to this web site. I have a ton of questions for all you experts. But for now I want to ask this one. I need about 4.5 yards of mulch. I want to buy bags of mulch instead of bulk. So I want to know how many bags of mulch do I need and how do i figure this out. I plan on doing alot of mulching so i could use all the info i can get...Thanks in advance.

GrassBustersLawn
01-28-2004, 09:00 PM
A CUBIC YARD is 27 Cubic FEET. A cubic YARD will spread 3 to 4 inches deep over 100 SQUARE FEET. I've seen bagged mulch in 2 CU. FEET and in 3 Cu. FEET bags. So you need to check and see what you are buying. But if you are buying 3 Cu Ft bags, you will need 9 of them for 1 cubic yard. So 4.5 (yards) x 9 = 40.5 bags (3 cu. Ft.)

Hope this helps.

Mike

proenterprises
01-28-2004, 09:08 PM
another note on buying in bags-i am not sure your strategy to buying in all bags but make sure you find a good wholesale spot where you can get a good deal on bagged mulch. otherwise, your overhead will be through the roof buying by the bag.

eric22
01-28-2004, 09:10 PM
one bag will cover about the size of the bag if you a 4-5 inches

michindi
01-28-2004, 09:33 PM
Thanks Grassbusters...... Im not really set on useing bags. I have not checked on prices yet for bulk, but the cheapest 2 cu feet of red mulch i could find is $2.47 a bag. I am very new to this so im checking out all my options.

Norm Al
01-28-2004, 10:06 PM

Ground Effects NH
01-29-2004, 04:31 PM
Hello
I hope this may be of some help, If not maybe in the future add it to your Favorites.
http://www.atstecks.com/mulch.htm

michindi
01-29-2004, 06:22 PM