PDA

View Full Version : My Story

WAGS LandL
01-30-2004, 10:13 PM
Hi everyone, new to the site as of today. It is great btw!!
I thought I would share my story in case there is anyone out there who can relate to it and be encouraged by it.
I worked as a sales rep for a regional lawn and tree application company here in York for 5 years. In Dec. 2001 they announced that they were selling the business. After several months of tense days the sale was finalized and in Jan. 2002 I was out of a job. I took seveal temp jobs to pay the bills and finally decided to start my own lawn care business. I bought a used John Deere f510 a Snapper 21" push mower, a blower, a trimmer, and a 5 x 10 utility trailer (all cash btw) and set off in my Ford Ranger to mow the 6 lawns that I had signed up. This lasted a month before we couldn't meet our bills. I took a full time job and kept mowing part time. Well, that is when things took off I worked full
time in 2002 at a garden center while I grewmy accounts to 14
regular lawns. I made $18,000 mowing, mulching, prunning and just about anything I could do during the daylight. This past year has been great. My wife and I decided that 2003 was the year to
go full time. I had traded in my Deere on an eXMARK lazer z hp 48" in 2002 and was set for a great year in 2003. The business
grew and grew and I ended this year with 49 regular lawns in my route. The 5 x 10 trailer is gone and a new 6'4" x 16' construction trailer is in its place. I still have the 48" exmark and have added a
60" lazer z liquid cooled. I never thought things would grow this fast but hard work and persistence have paid off. We are plowing snow this winter and I can't wait to start cutting grass this spring.
My wife and I just had our second baby and with my oldest boy sitting on my lap with me now:angel: I know that from dark times
some of the brightest and best days will be in the future.