PDA

View Full Version : Speed

blankenshiplawncare
02-03-2004, 09:53 PM
Has anyone determined a good speed to run your mower with the accelerator on it? I have mine on a 36" Exmark WB. Catching grass I run it full throttle but this winter, trying to bag leafs has been a bear. I blow stuff all around in front of the mower. Now keep in mind that 75% of the leafs are getting picked up. I just hate to have to revisit areas. You'll bear with me this is my first year in business. Still learning the tricks. Kudos to Accelerator, every time I have called I get the owner. If it's not the owner you have some truly dedicated employees.

LawnPerfect
02-04-2004, 12:41 AM
You might check the pitch (front to rear) of your deck. Most recommend a setting of 1/4 to 1/2" (front being lower). That might help with some of the blow out.

PeterA
02-04-2004, 02:06 AM
I have 2 suggestions. First, you might try to put a highlift on the side near the catcher, with a regular blade on the far spindle. Also, if you think you can live with the catcher riding a bit lower in the back, you can use a grinder and remove some steel from the metal lip the catcher hooks over (right under where the hook goes). If you take about a quarter inch of metal off, the rear of the catcher will drop about 1 1/2 inches. This helps the catcher performance (the trade off is that the catcher will get a bit more beat up since it will ride a bit lower).
Hope this helps

Peter.

blankenshiplawncare
02-04-2004, 01:15 PM
I will try the front to rear hight issue. I was unaware of this. I need to pick up leaves in my own yard. Thanks for the help.

LawnPerfect
02-05-2004, 01:04 AM
Sure thing.

Let me know how it works out for you.

If there is anything else just let me know.

Chuck

John Gamba
02-05-2004, 08:26 AM
Try Rapter blades. They will cut down on the blow out and mulch the leaves very well.