PDA

View Full Version : Will I ever ride again?

CJ GreenScapes
02-10-2004, 06:33 PM
Hi guys (and gals)! First of all, I have to say that this site has been a God-send. I have been hooked for about a month and so much is covered I felt no need to post, until now... I am new to be business and I promised my wife that I would not invest a bunch of money, so I am trying to do this on the cheap until I build up some cash flow. What I have now is a John Deere LT155, Snapper 21", Troy Built stick edger, truck, and trailer (I know I look like a Scrub, but please forgive me). The problem I am having is that the last several potential customers I met with would not even hear of me using the riding mower on their lawns. I tried to explain to them that I have to charge more for using the Snapper, but that did not matter and ofcourse I priced myself out of the jobs. I have been looking at the ZTR's for a while and I was wandering if you guys ran into the same problem?

John Gamba
02-10-2004, 07:26 PM
Is that a lawn tractor? And why dont they want it on there lawns?
john

CJ GreenScapes
02-10-2004, 07:33 PM
According to them: the big tires mess up their lawns (they are no bigger than the avg ZTR tires) and they do not like the way the mowing lines look afterwards. I tried to explain that it is not necessarily the mower, but the operator that determines how well a lawn looks....

CNE
02-10-2004, 08:39 PM
Try a walk behind. They are not as heavy as a ZTR and easier to operate on a small yard. I have had trouble with my 60" Exmark ZTR on Centipede leaving bruises. Within a couple of days after mowing you can see burgundy tracks where the tires went. Don't have that problem with my WB.

BSDeality
02-10-2004, 08:49 PM