PDA

View Full Version : new to business

ej Landscaping
02-12-2004, 05:39 PM
I am new to the business (residential maintenance and small install jobs) and we (partner is my brother) are setting everything up to be a legitimate company, and things are going well. We are just wondering how ya'll got started.

1. how many clients did you start with
2. how many did you have after 2 months and so on
and
3. what is the average cost per cut on...oh lets say 4,000 sqft.

thanks for the input

scottknussmann
02-12-2004, 08:03 PM
i just got started also, be ready to find a lawyer and accountant before anything, just helps everything go smooth. Also, apply for your sales tax permit and your nursery floral certificate now, as it takes a while for the state to process them. I am still waiting, and its been over a month...Right now i have 12 clients, and need more. I charge about 35 dollars a man hour, so if it takes 2 people one hour to do a yard, then i charge 70...small yards i charge a minimum of $35.00 Hope some of this helps? Also, what type of legitimate co. are you thinking? I have an LLC and have been pleased so far....later

ej Landscaping
02-13-2004, 02:35 PM
Scott,

thanks for responding, and the info did help. I know it does take a while for things to get going, we have been stuck on a licence or two ourselves. we are also an LLC and we have had zero problems with it.
thanks for the hourly numbers also, they are just about what we going to charge out here, $35 a cut.
another question scott, have you landed any jobs doing irrigation install? it just seems to me that there are a lot of homes going up in the cookie cutter type fashion and they all have to eventually have irrigation and landscape. Have you landed any of these and if so what would you charge, and most importantly what would you take home? (after tax and overhead)

twins_lawn_care
02-13-2004, 03:54 PM
1) 1
2) 4
3) $25