PDA

View Full Version : shindaiwa t-270 carb adjustment


captken
02-16-2004, 12:30 AM
My t-270 has no guts.
My old t-27 has way more power. Revs freely to max rpm.
Both units appear to be identical.
Except the t-270 carb is not fully adjustable.
Low power and low rpm.
Dealer says this is normal....
Is there a fix for this problem?
How can I get it to preform like the t-27?

captken
02-16-2004, 11:38 AM
I remember a thread from last year concerning changes you can make to the carb to adjust the mixture.

I tried a search...but could not find anything.
I have an old carb from my t-27 and I wonder if that will work.
The old Shindaiwa is my favorite....so naturally when I needed another I bought the t 270.
It just doesn't preform.

dishboy
02-16-2004, 12:07 PM
I use all my old carbs from my pre smog carbs and they mount and work great. Your new carb is probably running fat. If you rotate the trimmer with the throttle wide open and its rpms fall off when upside down [puddling] than it is running rich. I believe there is one adjusment you can make on the smog carb that changes its mixtire. There is a clip on the needle you get to by unscrewing the cap and pulling out the slide. I would talk to your shop about messing with this, if you lean it out to much and burn it up you might have a warrenty issue.

turf9
02-16-2004, 12:36 PM
I had the same thing with my t260 carefully first throw out arrestor. next thing is it may have a tired diaphram in the carb. every 2 years mine gets pissed off.No adjustments to mine either.

captken
02-16-2004, 07:26 PM
I have the one I replaced on my t-27, I wonder if a rebuild is worth it. I don't remember what the problem was that caused me to replace it!

I already did the spark arrestor screen thing...

Seems I read that you could drill out the limiter cap [plug?] at the base of the carb and that there was a screw under it, I don't want to damage the carb by quessing.

A presmog 27 carb new will probably cost $$$$

dishboy
02-16-2004, 08:09 PM
I think a kit for the T-27 is $30-$ 35.

captken
02-16-2004, 09:58 PM
I'll check it out tomorrow at Stateline Turf

dishboy
03-01-2004, 10:16 PM
captken;

I found out how to adjust your carb on that T-270 today. Under your idle screw is a brass plug , you drill a very small hole in that plug, be careful to only drill through the plug, this will allow you to pop that plug out. under that plug you will have either a screw like the old carbs or a jet in which case you can replace that with a screw. My carb has the screw so all I had to do is tune it.
To tune it I fatten up the mixture, turn trimmer upside down and run wide open. I lean out until Rpm's clean up upside down. I understand that this is not what they want you to do with this carb and I will get sh*t for telling you this but in reality tuned like this the trimmer is actually running leaner so emissions will be lower and power higher.
Tom

captken
03-02-2004, 06:26 PM
mine doesn't appear to have a plug...just a deep hole [directly under the idle adjust screw] at the base of that hole is metal that appears to be cast with the carb base....Is that what yours looks like?

ed2hess
03-02-2004, 08:17 PM
I think they may have added it last year our unit has the adjustment. I am not buying any more units that don't have carb adjustments.....we lived though hell for that last 4 years with out adjustments on the newer units. Echo had adjustment this year I think.

dishboy
03-02-2004, 09:18 PM
My brass plug is 9/16 inch directly below the idle screw, center to center. The brass plug is 1/4 inch accross. It is the opposite direction from the top of the slide and throttle cable. This carb is two years old but it appears to be identical to the machine I bought yesterday. My new one is last years model and it screams and I have not even 10 minutes breakin on it. Let me know if you find it.
Tom