PDA

View Full Version : belt drive walk behinds with sulky

MikeMaupin
02-18-2004, 09:29 AM
I have asked this question here before but I need to be sure since I have no experience with one and I am about to buy one, maybe. Will a belt drive WB with a sulky pull and cut a hill job good.It is a Bobcat 36 " with I think a 16 horse, and I am 230 lbs. Also what it the difference in a suky and a velkie and which one should I get for this WB.The guy at the dealer who is the owner insists that I can only cut level ground with pulling one of these and hills are out of the question.He says I need a hydro which is about 2k more.Is he trying to milk me for more or will I be fine with the belt.I can always get a hydro later but for now my budget will not allow me to go there now.I am not going to finance but pay cash for it so ! Please help me I am ready to make this purchase now.Thanks

hole in one lco
02-18-2004, 10:39 AM
how big is the hill ? I run a sulky on a 48 gear drive with14hp and it works fine for me.

2 wheel sulky is my choice for one reason no third wheel track

FrankenScagMachines
02-18-2004, 10:58 AM
Velke is a brand name of sulky. Go for a two wheeled trailing model thats the best for what you're doing. Look at Velke X2 (Velke's two wheel) and Jungle Jim's Jungle Wheels.
Wright Mfg/Velke website: http://wrightmfg.com/
Jungle Jim's Website: http://www.junglejimsap.com

I'm not sure how well it will work on hills. The only 36" belt drive I tried would not have done it without tightening the belts- it required much manipulation to keep on the hill just walking (no it wasn't worn out it was a demo mower). It needed tightened. Depends on the hills. Try to get pictures of the hills and we could help. Talk to PaulJ on here, he has or had a 36" belt drive with a sulky and used it on a couple hills.

TreffertLawnWrx
02-18-2004, 11:20 AM