PDA

View Full Version : Giving up my corp. job to start LCO?

BAMARED
02-18-2004, 11:44 AM
Good morning guys & gals,

I know that this subject has been brought up in the past and I've read most of these posts - but I need to tell you guys something so that I can get ya'lls opinion on the matter.

I've been doing this LCO gig for 5 years now on a part time basis. I love it and do not mind the hard work one bit. I would love to do this for a living, but I'm afraid of (2) things. If anyone has any tips/advice/etc., please let me know.

1. If I did leave my corp. job, what would I do for a company matched 401K account?

2. What would I do about affordable/quality health insurance?

Are there anymore issues that I should be aware of by going from a corp. job to owning my own LCO?

Thanks,

BAMARED

TreffertLawnWrx
02-18-2004, 11:54 AM
I'm not one for giving advice on personal decisions. I think everything happens for a reason. If you really want to do it, go for it! Others are going to say no its not worth it, or give you a bunch of negatives to think about. They may have valid points but do what feels right for you, not what others have lacked or failed at! Find a good finacial advisor and go over retirement plans with them. Call around for a good health coverage for you and your family. Most of all I'd say go to a good business planning firm. They will be able to help you in every aspect of going full time. Good Luck! Scott

coonman
02-18-2004, 12:00 PM
Lots of options. 401k just roll it to an IRA (Roth or traditional), make sure to weigh the options of both. You can also start a SEP. There are many investments you can do on your own for your retirement. You will probably want to purchase a life policy on yourself if you have a family. Healthcare you will buy on your own, lots of options. Anymore most companies have their employees pay most healthcare costs out of their checks anyway.

good luck

dkeisala
02-18-2004, 12:10 PM