PDA

View Full Version : need help fast on bidding on huge commercial property

QualityLawnCare4u
02-18-2004, 11:42 AM
Hello, newby here with a question I need a quick answer to. Ive been doing lawns (residental) for 5 years and I have stayed just above the poverty level. I got a call this morning from a govt. agency that was taking bids of 5 properties. I went to get the specs and look at the propertys and the first one was a HUGE apartment complex. It has several hundred large srubs that would need trimming about 4 time a year and I figured the mowing and weedeting would take me at least 3 days on just this one property. Also wanted included in bid fertilizing lawn and srubs when needed and hauling off debris. The other 2 apartment complex was in a town 40 milesa away and one was 45 miles away. I have not even looked at them yet but if they are anything like the one locally there is no way Icould do them being Im a one man show.They had a lco in each one of the distant towns but wanted to combine all of them into one. I would really like to get a few good commercial accounts and dump these &^&%&&^ residental nightmares that I have now but am scared of biting off more tan I can handle. I believe they are going to have trouble getting a local LCO to drive this far for thses distant one. The one I looked at today would keep a 3 man crew busy from daylite till dark just mowing and edging, not counting the srubs. It would take me 5 days to do all the srubs by myself not counting hauling off clippings to landfill 10 miles away in my 11 mpg truck. How would you guys that have more expertise than me bid this. I really have no idea on biddibg on this and I have hurt myself badly on underbidding in the past and have never done a job of this magnitude. The worst yard I have would not even be 5% of the size of this one, not counting the other 4 I still have not looked at. I also will have to get license for the roundup and other chemicals that I dont have. Also what is the be