PDA

View Full Version : Irrigation system Installation Question

westernmdlawn
02-18-2004, 05:32 PM
Hi all...
Heres the deal.... I have been approached by a General Contractor who is building a new "Applebee's" restaurant nearby to bid on the landscape installation. He said it would involve some irrigation. Okay, the thing is that I am just starting out this year and have zero experience with irrigation. The landscape stuff alone is going to be new for me to do, and I'm not afraid to do that at all. But the irrigation portion is what bothers me. Is it hard? Do I need to learn about alot before I attempt something like this, or is it self explanatory and easy to do???? What do ya think guys? I'm also not sure since I don't have the plans yet, but wouldn't the irrigation work have to be done before alot of the landscaping work??
Your help is MUCH MUCH appreciated!!

AssuredServicesCo
02-18-2004, 06:53 PM
Sounds like an opportunity to get a job under your belt. Why not consider subbing the job out to a licensed irrigator, then take a slight mark-up. Make sure the irrigator can follow-up with service to the system as needed. You don't want to make a bad name for yourself by doing a job you can't service. If it works out chances are this contractor will use you again. Also remember your general liability insurance does not cover Works Completed Operations so don't get stuck. Good Luck.

greenworldh20
02-18-2004, 09:50 PM
network with other landscape companies that do not have irrigation in house. they should be able to point you in the direction of a reputable company.

OR you could visit an irrigation supply house and have their guy design the system for you. some will come out to your job and flag heads for you provided you buy all materials from them.

this is how i learned irrigation.

brian

D Felix
02-18-2004, 11:58 PM