PDA

View Full Version : Minimum Pricing

MOturkey
02-21-2004, 06:59 PM
I just found this forum yesterday, and this is only my second post, so bear with me guys. I'm pretty new to this lawncare thing. I've helped a friend of mine the past few years, and decided to go into it on my own part time, with an eye toward four years from now when I should be able to retire from my job as a milkman. Hopefully, my business will be large enough by then to supplement my retirement pretty handily.

A question. I've noted on posts here, as well as talking to others in the lawncare business from other areas that most seem to have a minium charge. I've heard the figure of between $30 and $35 thrown around several times. Around here, I'm not sure that will fly, as it is not necessarily a high income area. Also, I'm wondering if most of those with those high minimums started their business that way, or have simply adopted them after they grew to the point where they can afford to be more selective. I realize it is a pain to unload/load and move from one place to another, but if it is a yard that one person can complete in 30 minutes or less, it seems to me that $20 still computes to $40 an hour. I don't want to mow myself broke, but on the other hand I don't want to pass up business which can still be profitable. So, for you guys with a lot more experience than I, do you think minimum pricing is the way to go or not? And, if you do, how much do you think it should be? My potential customers are small town folk, and many are retired.

Thanks. Neill

precisioncut
02-21-2004, 11:48 PM
Call around to other LCO's in your area and ask them about there pricing on mowing, trimming, and other services you expect to offer. It's an easy way to get going. If you own your home have a bunch of them come over and bid on your yard to get an idea. If you have them come over, ask all the questions, about everything. That should give you a solid base from which to work.

ollie212@tds.net