PDA

View Full Version : Correspondence Schools

ken50
02-28-2004, 06:40 PM
I am brand new to all this, but had a question. Have any of you used, or can you suggest, a good online correspondence school for landscaping, that upon its completion, will have you ready to go out in the real world and be successful in the landscape industry? I have a fulltime job in which I work a good 50+ hours a week, working for a company I have been with for 18 years. Unfortunately, it seems that there are some major layoffs coming, and I may be one of the ones cut...who knows? Bottom line, I am tired of dealing with the corporate "bologna" and would really like to go for this. Thanks in advance for any input.

Ken

mow2nd
02-28-2004, 07:03 PM
I wouldn't pay for school, this is not rocket science. Get a job with a good landscaping company. You will get paid and you can learn the business. After a year of working with a good company, you can go out on your own.

good luck

Randy J
02-28-2004, 07:42 PM
Don't know much about the landscaping schools, but 2 real good lawn care schools are the University of Georgia Turfgrass Management Course (http://www.gactr.uga.edu/is/turf/) , and the Purdue University Turfgrass Course (http://www.cll.purdue.edu/extendeduniversity/selfdirected/correspondencecourses/pestcontrol/detail/index.cfm?Course_ID=3) . I recommend taking the UofG course first, then the PU course.

Randy

Flipperneck
02-28-2004, 07:54 PM