PDA

View Full Version : Chemical mixing, please read and give your 2 cents

Jason Rose
02-29-2004, 01:23 PM
Ok, I have been spraying for four years or so but not at all full time. I spray probably 2,000 gallons of mix per season (20, 100 gal. tanks). Here's what I still don't get... How can a mix of 3-way herbicide for example, let's say 1.5 ounces per 1,000 sq. ft. How can the rate be the same like the label says if you mix that 1.5 ounces of chemical in 1,2,3,4,or 5 gallons of water!!?? I can understand the this being correct for a preemergant or non-contact insecticide but how does a 'contact' type chemical work the same if it is DILLUTED in 1 or 5 gallons of water assuming that 1 to 5 gallons is spread over the same amount of area.

Basically I am getting very poor results when I mix, say, 1.5 ounces per 1,000 of 3-way at a 3 gallon per 1,000 rate. BUT if i am to mix it at 1.5 ounces per GALLON like I want to I am triple over my spray rate per k. I have notr found a way to get my lesco/chemlawn gun to spray that low of a volume, nor would I even want to. I like to get the weeds/grass consistantly wet with spray and 2-3 gal per k seems to do that well but at the dilluted rate I have to spray then I am still getting poor to very poor results.

Many times I do spray in the mornings, usually when there is dew on the lawns, I know this must be also dilluting my spray even more. I just can't win! How do the big guys do it and get good consistant results? It is so hard in Kansas to catch a day that the wind isn't blowing, you have to spray when you can.

If this isn't at all clear feel free to ask me questions, Thanks guys!

Dragonscapes
02-29-2004, 01:30 PM