PDA

View Full Version : seeding after crabgrass control

rmartin
03-04-2004, 07:17 PM
I have a few customers that want to get slice seeded this spring, however i have told them numerous times that the seed will not sprout due to the crabgrass controller. I know about siduron but i dont think that stuff really works all that great. Sould i just seed and charge them for it? or not?

timturf
03-04-2004, 08:58 PM
sidron or tupersan does work, but last only 4 weeks!

James Cormier
03-04-2004, 08:59 PM
Tupersan works awsome, but you gotta read the lable it calls for 2 treatments, very expensive. I only seed in spring if they buy the turpersan( siduron )

sodzilla
03-04-2004, 09:15 PM
This is my first year so I'm not famillar with all the products yet. My supplier told me about a product you use after seeding but you must put it downright away. I think he called it drive. I don't know if that is brand name of the two listed above or what. Like I said have not used it yet.

grassguy_
03-05-2004, 09:27 PM
Depending on the type of slit seeding you are doing then there are two wayus to appraoch it. If you are doing spots throughout the yard and no real large open areas then the the product Drive can be ued and does well for spot treating of crabgrass once it has emerged. If you are doing large open areas with plenty of sunlight , then you are probably better to use the Tupersan. Personal preference is to use the Drive because will attempt to fill in at different times and the control with Tupersan will disipate quickly 2-4 weeks depending on moisture and photodegradation. Best to seed early either way so grass can get the time to compete before summer comes in. Being where you are crabgrass probably isn't an issue until late May!

James Cormier
03-06-2004, 06:17 PM
Does drive mix well in the perma green?

big m
03-07-2004, 07:17 PM