PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I sell lawn care?

Doster's L & L
03-04-2004, 06:54 PM
This is my first year to really push myself to sell lawn care. I am selling in areas where they have $150K- 350K homes. There is obviously no one doing lawn care there b/c they have weeds out the arse. I have gotten several calls and have been timely in giving them an estimate. They are eager to talk to me and hear what i have to say about my plan and how good it's gonna look come summer time and even better in April next year. But when it comes down to the numbers, i hear them freeking out with their thoughts. What i get is, "Well, i'll have to think about it for a while." What does this mean, guys? Are they hoping that i will get desparate and drop my prices? (it's starting to become an option) Does this mean, "Hell, man, do you want my arm too?!?" What does it all mean? I need your advice! Please help!

jsr2741
03-04-2004, 06:59 PM
Around here, people in homes that run in the 200k to 500k range are what we call house poor.

Try targeting some of the older homes in the 90k to 150k range.Those are usually the blue collar folks and they are good at paying on time and are more geared to qaulity than price.

Just my .02.

poolboy
03-04-2004, 07:07 PM
Try to target an older age group. And you might look into doing some “before and after” photos; that way homeowners can ponder over what their landscape might look like.

Lawn-Scapes
03-04-2004, 07:09 PM
Like the previous poster said.. try a different area and income level. Don't limit yourself.

Also.. if you are not getting any bites at all... maybe you are overpriced. Just because you read on here that some are making $60 per hour.. that everyone and anyone who is in this business is or will. I certainly don't but I make a good living.

Don't get discouraged.. Good luck.

little green guy
03-04-2004, 07:10 PM
whatever you do don't lower your prices.

Tonyr
03-04-2004, 07:12 PM